SMILE

Smile

Such a small word…such a small act…but, yes, a smile can have a huge impact on almost everyone.  Think about it…how many people’s spirits have been lifted or encouraged just because they saw a smile, or possibly, gave a smile? It’s a way of encouraging, a way of consoling, a way to say “I’m here”, a way to greet someone, a sign of kindness….a statement of “I’m approachable”…

When my kids were at home and I was still in that training stage, I would always encourage them to smile!  “It takes more muscles to frown than to smile” was my mantra as we went out to greet the world.  And the world LOVES smiles!!! I love smiles..of my hubby of 40 years that tells me he still loves me…of my kids when I see them, letting me know they care…of my grandkids as they run to me, making me realize that growing older does have some perks. How many relationships began with just a simple smile….in school, in the store, or at church? How many hearts were comforted with a smile from someone who was dear to them?  I’m a piano teacher and anytime I smile at a student I generally get a smile back…even if the piece was difficult or not played well at the recital, a smile gives that message of “good job!”  Or, “I’m so proud of you!” That’s the amazing thing about a smile, it is contagious! It can spread from one person to another like a field on fire!  Smiles are truly a life-giving source to the human race, and I thank God that He created man/woman with the ability to smile! 

We, the people whom God created, have the ability to change someone’s day just by a smile.  There are verses that talk about a “cheerful face” or “making his face shine” or that we are to encourage each other.  A smile can do just that.  Now that I am older, I realize that my life and abilities are limited in the things that I am able to do…. I won’t be heading into the mission field to paint houses or lay bricks, or clear a pathway anymore….I may not be working with the youth at my church with water slides or raising money with running miles….I may not be helping the families of our church pack up houses and move heavy loads….but, there are some things I can do…I can encourage…I can listen….I can pray.  And then, I can smile, knowing that even in the smallest act, I can express a gift given by God….the ability to SMILE….

sharonmizenerwrites.wordpress.com

Today’s Five Minute Friday is Smile 🙂

#fiveminutefriday

#fmf

Published by sharonmizener

Just a 60 something woman who has random thoughts and hopefully some wisdom to share. Having a 55 year plus journey as a follower of Christ, I’ve learned a lot along the way and if you are interested, I would like to share some of the do’s and don’ts I’ve experienced. Grab a cup of coffee or tea, sit down, relax and let’s have a visit.

8 thoughts on “SMILE

    1. Yes…the genuineness of a smile may be difficult, but regardless of how I feel, the importance is to be kind, just smile…I’m an over thinker to begin with, so taking the initiative to smile for the sake of others was my direction for this five minute thought, the heart genuineness is perhaps for another five minutes…lol… 😉

      Like

  1. I think encouragement is underrated. It is so important. You can see it everywhere in the bible and it plays such an important part in the early church. Love the familu photo God bless fmf #14

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love your last sentence; I can express a gift given by God…..the ability to SMILE.
    No words are needed when you see a smile…
    Thank-you God for giving us the ability to Smile.
    Keep writing…I am encouraged by your stories.
    You have a beautiful family with beautiful smiles!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started