FIX


Never would I consider myself a “fixer”, but if you are a mom, you are required at different points in your mom career to “fix”.  The baby is crying, “fix” it; your little one scraped her knee, “fix” it; your school age child has just come home broken hearted over a comment or broken relationship, “fix” it!  So many times when I wore the “mommy hat”, I had to learn and navigate trying to “fix” things from toys to boo-boos, to just a button or a spot on a shirt. That was one of my job classifications, “fixer”. 

Today, I am still a “fixer” for my Grands, and I love it! “Here Mimi, fix this!” It’s a true joy to still be needed for those things. But now, I am no longer in the position to “fix” things for my own children.  They grew up and have situations and problems that I, frankly can’t and won’t, “fix”.  It’s hard to stand by and be quiet about the choices that are being made, relationships that are being damaged, hearts being broken, but God in His kind providence has taken me away from the duty I had as a parent and has placed me in a position from “fixer” to “listener”.  I love that, at times, my children have come and shared their thoughts and dreams, hopes and struggles, and just plain life with me.  It’s a true blessing to share in the ups and even the downs that my children go through and be included in their life. Although, sometimes I’m not invited in to hear…to be that listener, so I wait, and I pray.  That’s my “fix” it in this time of life, the prayer warrior.  .


I’ve also found, more importantly, that God is teaching me how to implement one of my favorite quotes, “In acceptance lieth peace.”  This season of my life, I am still learning what God has to teach me.  I can’t fix certain things, I can’t force a relationship where one isn’t wanted, I can’t make kids “kiss and make up”.  I wait, and I pray, and I continue to rest in the plan of my God and my King! I accept what He is doing (even if it hurts) and I rest and have peace that He does all things well! 

Life continues to change my role, my season, as I’m sure yours does too.  Where is it that God is calling you to “accept” and rest from the “fixing”?  He is Faithful, He is Trustworthy. He is the true and ultimate “Fixer” of all things.  May I encourage you to find your peace in Him today! 
#fmf

FiveMinuteFriday

Published by sharonmizener

Just a 60 something woman who has random thoughts and hopefully some wisdom to share. Having a 55 year plus journey as a follower of Christ, I’ve learned a lot along the way and if you are interested, I would like to share some of the do’s and don’ts I’ve experienced. Grab a cup of coffee or tea, sit down, relax and let’s have a visit.

7 thoughts on “FIX

  1. I can so relate to your post! I’m a mom and grandma, too. I love the stage of pouring into my grandchildren and ‘fixing’ for them. And yes, that time has passed with my adult children. I still love them fiercely but now, I can’t fix the hard things. But I can fix my eyes on Jesus and trust that He will continue to work in their lives. Visiting from FMF #30

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I so appreciate your writing skills and I used to be a fixer too! But God has shown me that His plan is perfect and His sovereignty sometimes allows the things we think need “fixing” to remain broken. He knows what we need before we ask and sometimes the broken things can keep us humble and reliant even more upon His grace.
    Having read your blog I can’t wait to hear you tickle the ivories!😉
    Because He First Loved Us, (1John 4:19)

    Del

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My life mirrors your words here…I’m even a MiMi, too! I am finding my role as Prayer Warrior may be the biggest “fix-it” assignment I’ve ever had! There’s so much I can’t do but He can! Loved this post! Your #fmf neighbor, Cindy

    Liked by 1 person

  4. God has given me this time to be a prayer warrior. I’m content praying for my loved ones & friends.
    Thanking God for everyday He wakes me up….His gift to me.
    I appreciate your writings.
    Love, Dianne

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started