IMPULSE

IMPULSE

Have you ever done anything on impulse, just spur of the moment and without much thought? In my 60-plus years, I have done/said/bought things on impulse and sometimes it was a good thing and other times it didn’t bode well.  Acting on impulse can often lead to foolishness as it says in Proverbs 29:20, “Do you see a man who is hasty in his words? There is more hope for a fool than for him.” Proverbs are full of wise sayings about our deeds and actions that aren’t directed by the Lord.

But let’s take a different look at the word “impulse” which is found 21 times in Scripture. Most of the time it refers to “the impulse of the heart/spirit” in terms of giving to or worshiping the Lord. God has given us this “impulse” for His good and His purposes! For example, I may have an impulse to pray for someone, to give, or to praise God for His grace and mercy! Impulses can be good and pleasing to our Father if we listen to His Spirit’s leading.

In my younger years, I had a problem with saying “no” to anyone who needed me for ministry. I always thought it must be the Lord’s desire and on impulse, I would say “yes” …then afterward, I would struggle to accomplish the important for the necessity of my “yes”. Can you relate? I have learned that saying “yes” is not always what the Lord desires for me and my impulse to “help” has grown into an impulse to “pray about it” before I answer!  

There have been times, as well, that I have had a sudden desire, an impulse in my heart to pray for someone—usually in the early morning hours when I can’t sleep—I begin to pray, impulsively bringing those before the Lord that come to mind.

This past week, our church sang the song “Take My Life and Let It Be” by Frances Ridley Havergal.  The second verse speaks of this kind of “impulse of the heart”.

Take my hands and let them move

At the impulse of Thy love;

Take my feet and let them be

Swift and beautiful for Thee,

Swift and beautiful for Thee.

Let me encourage you to examine your impulses and to let them be “at the impulse of Thy love”, God’s love, as he directs your hands, feet, and mind today. 

Blessings, Sharon  ~

http://www.sharonmizenerwrites.wordpress.com

Published by sharonmizener

Just a 60 something woman who has random thoughts and hopefully some wisdom to share. Having a 55 year plus journey as a follower of Christ, I’ve learned a lot along the way and if you are interested, I would like to share some of the do’s and don’ts I’ve experienced. Grab a cup of coffee or tea, sit down, relax and let’s have a visit.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started